

2017 WSAA AUSTRALIAN WINTER SWIMMING TITLES

Hosted by **Gold Coast Marlins** @ Gold Coast Aquatic Centre Sunday 10th September 2017

This year's Championships were held on a stunning day at the Gold Coast Aquatic Centre, purpose built for our titles and of course the Commonwealth Games on at the moment.

From the outset the team from the Marlins including Steve Cornelius (Captain), TJ Smith (President) and Matt Elkington (Secretary) delivered what has been widely commented on as the best run Championships to date. To their credit the Marlins have hosted the Australian Championships on 4 occasions in '83, '91, '12 and 2017. We have been very lucky with our regional member clubs showing the way in hosting and running great Australian Winter Swimming Championships.

The carnival started in great fashion with Keith Tickner once again dominating and setting a new age Australian Record in the Men's O/85 at a sizzling 42.01. Great effort Keith and he edged out Jack Chapman from the Tweed Heads & Coolangatta Dolphins with our oldest competitor Ossie Doherty at a spritely 91 years young in third.

In the other notable swim Lea Hill's Australian Record in the Women's O/70, the newly created event last year was lowered by Carole Simpson from our host club the Gold Coast Marlins.

This year's notable performances and Swimmer of the Meet nominations include and in no particular order:

- Judy Luxton from the Cudgen Coldies for her winter swimming efforts and Gold in the O/55's
- Tweed Heads & Coolangatta Dolphins annual entry was for Garry Newman who lost his speedos in the relay and when ordered out of the water proudly walked the pool deck naked with his swim cap strategically placed.
- Neil Rogers from the Bondi Icebergs for his Gold in the O'60's. Neil has now won Gold in every Age division he has competed in at these Titles.
- John Stapleton from the Jervis Bay Wobbegongs. Founding member of both the Balmain Kool Kats & Jervis Bay Wobbegongs. Proudly the first competitor from the Wobbegongs.
- Ossie Doherty from the Harbord Frigid Frogs swimming twice, Bronze Medal in O/85 and Silver in the O/80 Relay. Ossie was born in 1926 and is 91 years old.
- Keith Tickner from the Cottosloe Crabs Winner in record time in the O/85. Winner of this event now for the last 3 years.
- Marg Simpson-Lee from the Bondi Icebergs who won Gold in the O/45, Silver in the O/25 and Gold in both the Open Relay and O/40 Relay.

All of the above were nominated for the John Stacpoole Swimmer of the meet but this year's winner won 3 medals, Gold in the O/70's, Gold in the O/70 Relay and Silver in the O/60 Relay. Congratulations to Ron Hardie from the Clovelly Eskimos, a long-time competitor at these titles.



After the Titles it was back to the Southport RSL Club for the presentation dinner & drinks and the announcement of the highly anticipated Nominated Time Relay placings. In the 'Á' Mixed 10x50m Nominated Time Relay the Harbord Frigid Frogs won from the Fremantle Shivering Shags. In the Mixed 'B' 10x50m Nominated Time Relay saw the Bronte Splashers tipping out the Gold Coast Marlins. Great effort from Bronte to win the A event and placing 3rd in the B event, certainly have bragging rights for the next 12 months.

The overall Pointscore winners with outstanding team efforts were once again the Harbord Frigid Frogs winning the Men's Pennant from 23 other clubs, ahead of the Bondi Icebergs and Cronulla Polar Bears. The Bondi Icebergs winning the Women's Pennant again from 11 other clubs well ahead of the Maroubra Seals and host club the Gold Coast Marlins. Congratulations to all competing clubs.

As always, we had a great team behind the scenes and I would like to thank you all, Greg Holland (Bears) for his leadership for all Winter Swimmers, Lyn Chapman (Eskimos), Clive Smith from his sick bed had organised Alan Rose, Terry Taylor and their team from the Shivering Sharks to do a stellar job Marshalling once again, Don Gain (Frogs), Anne & Peter Cullen (Bears/Greys), Patron John Sharpe (Seals), Steve Cornelius & Matt Elkington and the Gold Coast Marlins club, Steve Goddard & Vijay (Icebergs) & Rob Taylor (Frogs). I hope I haven't left anyone out. A big thank you to all involved. Special mention for Clive Smith and Eric Haynes who have sadly passed away and who have offered invaluable support and been an integral part in the running of the few carnivals I have been involved in and many more before my time. You will be both be sadly missed gentlemen.

I wish all swimmers from all the Winter Swimming Clubs in Australia a safe and happy year and I look forward to seeing you all again on Sunday September 16, 2018 at the Prince Alfred Park Pool with the Bondi Icebergs as host club.

Regards

Michael Ryan WSAA Carnival Referee TH & C Dolphins & Cronulla Polar Bears